lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2017]   [Sep]   [27]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
From
SubjectRE: [PATCH V9 09/15] mmc: core: Add parameter use_blk_mq
Date


> -----Original Message-----
> From: linux-mmc-owner@vger.kernel.org [mailto:linux-mmc-
> owner@vger.kernel.org] On Behalf Of Linus Walleij
> Sent: Wednesday, September 27, 2017 2:42 AM
> To: Adrian Hunter <adrian.hunter@intel.com>
> Cc: Ulf Hansson <ulf.hansson@linaro.org>; linux-mmc <linux-
> mmc@vger.kernel.org>; linux-block <linux-block@vger.kernel.org>; linux-
> kernel <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>; Bough Chen <haibo.chen@nxp.com>;
> Alex Lemberg <Alex.Lemberg@wdc.com>; Mateusz Nowak
> <mateusz.nowak@intel.com>; Yuliy Izrailov <Yuliy.Izrailov@wdc.com>;
> Jaehoon Chung <jh80.chung@samsung.com>; Dong Aisheng
> <dongas86@gmail.com>; Das Asutosh <asutoshd@codeaurora.org>; Zhangfei
> Gao <zhangfei.gao@gmail.com>; Sahitya Tummala
> <stummala@codeaurora.org>; Harjani Ritesh <riteshh@codeaurora.org>;
> Venu Byravarasu <vbyravarasu@nvidia.com>; Shawn Lin <shawn.lin@rock-
> chips.com>; Christoph Hellwig <hch@lst.de>
> Subject: Re: [PATCH V9 09/15] mmc: core: Add parameter use_blk_mq
>
> On Fri, Sep 22, 2017 at 2:36 PM, Adrian Hunter <adrian.hunter@intel.com>
> wrote:
>
> > Until mmc has blk-mq support fully implemented and tested, add a
> > parameter use_blk_mq, default to false unless config option
> > MMC_MQ_DEFAULT is selected.
> >
> > Signed-off-by: Adrian Hunter <adrian.hunter@intel.com>
>
> > +config MMC_MQ_DEFAULT
> > + bool "MMC: use blk-mq I/O path by default"
> > + depends on MMC && BLOCK
>
> I would say:
> default y
>
> Why not. SCSI is starting to enable this by default so IMO we should not take
> the intermediate step of having this as optional. Otherwise it never gets
> tested.
>
> Set it to default y and after two kernel releases, if nothing happens, we simply
> delete the old block layer path.
>
> > +#ifdef CONFIG_MMC_MQ_DEFAULT
> > +bool mmc_use_blk_mq = true;
> > +#else
> > +bool mmc_use_blk_mq = false;
> > +#endif
> > +module_param_named(use_blk_mq, mmc_use_blk_mq, bool, S_IWUSR |
> > +S_IRUGO);
>
> Are people really modprobing this so it needs to be a module parameter?


Module param can be changed in runtime

>
> Maybe I'm the only developer stupid enough to just recompile and reboot the
> whole kernel, I guess this makes sense if you're testing on the same machine
> you're developing on (no cross-compilation and remote target) which I guess
> is what some Intel people are doing with their laptops.
>
> Yours,
> Linus Walleij
> --
> To unsubscribe from this list: send the line "unsubscribe linux-mmc" in the
> body of a message to majordomo@vger.kernel.org More majordomo info at
> http://vger.kernel.org/majordomo-info.html
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2017-09-27 14:59    [W:0.755 / U:0.012 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site