lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2017]   [Sep]   [19]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
From
Date
SubjectRe: [tip:timers/core] kselftests: timers: set-timer-lat: Tweak reporting when timer fires early
On Tue, Sep 19, 2017 at 6:02 PM, Shuah Khan <shuah@kernel.org> wrote:
> Hi Greg,
>
> On 08/20/2017 03:56 AM, tip-bot for Greg Hackmann wrote:
>> Commit-ID: a524b1184b8e86141d689fa78ad150fbf2db9b4c
>> Gitweb: http://git.kernel.org/tip/a524b1184b8e86141d689fa78ad150fbf2db9b4c
>> Author: Greg Hackmann <ghackmann@google.com>
>> AuthorDate: Tue, 25 Jul 2017 14:36:25 -0700
>> Committer: John Stultz <john.stultz@linaro.org>
>> CommitDate: Thu, 17 Aug 2017 12:14:54 -0700
>>
>> kselftests: timers: set-timer-lat: Tweak reporting when timer fires early
>>
>> Rather than printing an error inside the alarm signal handler, set a
>> flag that we check later. This keeps the test from spamming the console
>> every time the alarm fires early. It also fixes the test exiting with
>> error code 0 if this was the only test failure.
>>
>> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
>> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
>> Cc: Miroslav Lichvar <mlichvar@redhat.com>
>> Cc: Richard Cochran <richardcochran@gmail.com>
>> Cc: Prarit Bhargava <prarit@redhat.com>
>> Cc: Stephen Boyd <stephen.boyd@linaro.org>
>> Cc: Shuah Khan <shuah@kernel.org>
>> Cc: linux-kselftest@vger.kernel.org
>> Signed-off-by: Greg Hackmann <ghackmann@google.com>
>> Signed-off-by: John Stultz <john.stultz@linaro.org>
>
> This commit is making the set-timer-lat hang. I reverted this commit
> and there is no hang. Could you please take a look and see if this
> commit should be reverted.
>
> make kselftest as well as make -C tools/testing/selftests/timers run_tests
> hang.

Do you have any specific details as to how the test hangs? (ie: Log
data, as in where it might be when it hangs? Any details about the
machine?)

I'm not seeing it so far in my testing.

thanks
-john

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2017-09-20 05:37    [W:0.084 / U:0.856 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site