lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2017]   [Aug]   [7]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH 02/14] fork: allow arch-override of VMAP stack alignment
Date
In some cases, an architecture might wish its stacks to be aligned to a
boundary larger than THREAD_SIZE. For example, using an alignment of
double THREAD_SIZE can allow for stack overflows smaller than
THREAD_SIZE to be detected by checking a single bit of the stack
pointer.

This patch allows architectures to override the alignment of VMAP'd
stacks, by defining THREAD_ALIGN. Where not defined, this defaults to
THREAD_SIZE, as is the case today.

Signed-off-by: Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>
Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@amacapital.net>
Cc: Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org>
Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>
Cc: James Morse <james.morse@arm.com>
Cc: Laura Abbott <labbott@redhat.com>
Cc: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>
Cc: linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org
---
kernel/fork.c | 5 ++++-
1 file changed, 4 insertions(+), 1 deletion(-)

diff --git a/kernel/fork.c b/kernel/fork.c
index 17921b0..696d692 100644
--- a/kernel/fork.c
+++ b/kernel/fork.c
@@ -217,7 +217,10 @@ static unsigned long *alloc_thread_stack_node(struct task_struct *tsk, int node)
return s->addr;
}

- stack = __vmalloc_node_range(THREAD_SIZE, THREAD_SIZE,
+#ifndef THREAD_ALIGN
+#define THREAD_ALIGN THREAD_SIZE
+#endif
+ stack = __vmalloc_node_range(THREAD_SIZE, THREAD_ALIGN,
VMALLOC_START, VMALLOC_END,
THREADINFO_GFP,
PAGE_KERNEL,
--
1.9.1
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2017-08-07 20:38    [W:0.145 / U:6.048 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site