lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2017]   [Jul]   [7]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
Date
From
SubjectRe: [RFC PATCH v1 5/8] sched/cpufreq_schedutil: always consider all CPUs when deciding next freq
On 05-07-17, 09:59, Juri Lelli wrote:
> No assumption can be made upon the rate at which frequency updates get
> triggered, as there are scheduling policies (like SCHED_DEADLINE) which
> don't trigger them so frequently.
>
> Remove such assumption from the code, by always considering
> SCHED_DEADLINE utilization signal as not stale.
>
> Signed-off-by: Juri Lelli <juri.lelli@arm.com>
> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
> Cc: Rafael J. Wysocki <rafael.j.wysocki@intel.com>
> Cc: Viresh Kumar <viresh.kumar@linaro.org>
> Cc: Luca Abeni <luca.abeni@santannapisa.it>
> Cc: Claudio Scordino <claudio@evidence.eu.com>
> ---
> kernel/sched/cpufreq_schedutil.c | 17 +++++++++++------
> 1 file changed, 11 insertions(+), 6 deletions(-)
>
> diff --git a/kernel/sched/cpufreq_schedutil.c b/kernel/sched/cpufreq_schedutil.c
> index e835fa886225..066b876d81e7 100644
> --- a/kernel/sched/cpufreq_schedutil.c
> +++ b/kernel/sched/cpufreq_schedutil.c
> @@ -267,17 +267,22 @@ static unsigned int sugov_next_freq_shared(struct sugov_cpu *sg_cpu, u64 time)
> s64 delta_ns;
>
> /*
> - * If the CPU utilization was last updated before the previous
> - * frequency update and the time elapsed between the last update
> - * of the CPU utilization and the last frequency update is long
> - * enough, don't take the CPU into account as it probably is
> - * idle now (and clear iowait_boost for it).
> + * If the CFS CPU utilization was last updated before the
> + * previous frequency update and the time elapsed between the
> + * last update of the CPU utilization and the last frequency
> + * update is long enough, reset iowait_boost and util_cfs, as
> + * they are now probably stale. However, still consider the
> + * CPU contribution if it has some DEADLINE utilization
> + * (util_dl).
> */
> delta_ns = time - j_sg_cpu->last_update;
> if (delta_ns > TICK_NSEC) {
> j_sg_cpu->iowait_boost = 0;
> - continue;
> + j_sg_cpu->util_cfs = 0;
> + if (j_sg_cpu->util_dl == 0)
> + continue;
> }
> +
> if (j_sg_cpu->flags & SCHED_CPUFREQ_RT)
> return policy->cpuinfo.max_freq;
>

Acked-by: Viresh Kumar <viresh.kumar@linaro.org>

--
viresh

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2017-07-07 10:59    [W:0.252 / U:38.472 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site