lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2017]   [Jul]   [3]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH 4.9 105/172] perf/x86/intel: Use ULL constant to prevent undefined shift behaviour
Date
4.9-stable review patch.  If anyone has any objections, please let me know.

------------------

From: Colin King <colin.king@canonical.com>


[ Upstream commit ad5013d5699d30ded0cdbbc68b93b2aa28222c6e ]

When x86_pmu.num_counters is 32 the shift of the integer constant 1 is
exceeding 32bit and therefor undefined behaviour.

Fix this by shifting 1ULL instead of 1.

Reported-by: CoverityScan CID#1192105 ("Bad bit shift operation")
Signed-off-by: Colin Ian King <colin.king@canonical.com>
Cc: Andi Kleen <ak@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Kan Liang <kan.liang@intel.com>
Cc: Stephane Eranian <eranian@google.com>
Cc: Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com>
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20170111114310.17928-1-colin.king@canonical.com
Signed-off-by: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Signed-off-by: Sasha Levin <alexander.levin@verizon.com>
Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
---
arch/x86/events/intel/core.c | 2 +-
1 file changed, 1 insertion(+), 1 deletion(-)

--- a/arch/x86/events/intel/core.c
+++ b/arch/x86/events/intel/core.c
@@ -3978,7 +3978,7 @@ __init int intel_pmu_init(void)
x86_pmu.num_counters, INTEL_PMC_MAX_GENERIC);
x86_pmu.num_counters = INTEL_PMC_MAX_GENERIC;
}
- x86_pmu.intel_ctrl = (1 << x86_pmu.num_counters) - 1;
+ x86_pmu.intel_ctrl = (1ULL << x86_pmu.num_counters) - 1;

if (x86_pmu.num_counters_fixed > INTEL_PMC_MAX_FIXED) {
WARN(1, KERN_ERR "hw perf events fixed %d > max(%d), clipping!",

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2017-07-03 16:25    [W:0.589 / U:0.144 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site