lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2017]   [Feb]   [14]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
SubjectRe: [PATCH v13 06/12] usb: xhci: use bus->sysdev for DMA configuration
From
Date
On 14/02/17 13:44, Arnd Bergmann wrote:
> On Tue, Feb 14, 2017 at 11:36 AM, Roger Quadros <rogerq@ti.com> wrote:
>> On 11/02/17 03:27, Peter Chen wrote:
>>> From: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>
>>>
>>> For xhci-hcd platform device, all the DMA parameters are not
>>> configured properly, notably dma ops for dwc3 devices. So, set
>>> the dma for xhci from sysdev. sysdev is pointing to device that
>>> is known to the system firmware or hardware.
>>>
>>> Cc: Baolin Wang <baolin.wang@linaro.org>
>>> Cc: Vivek Gautam <vivek.gautam@codeaurora.org>
>>> Cc: Alexander Sverdlin <alexander.sverdlin@nokia.com>
>>> Cc: Mathias Nyman <mathias.nyman@linux.intel.com>
>>>
>>> Signed-off-by: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>
>>> Signed-off-by: Sriram Dash <sriram.dash@nxp.com>
>>> ---
>>> Hi, Baolin, Vivek and Alexander,
>>> I removed your tested-by tag due to add one change that adding sysdev
>>> for shared hcd too, if your test shows this change works for you or
>>> has no effect for you, please consider adding tested-by tag again,
>>> thanks.
>
>>> @@ -222,20 +241,20 @@ static int xhci_plat_probe(struct platform_device *pdev)
>>>
>>> xhci->clk = clk;
>>> xhci->main_hcd = hcd;
>>> - xhci->shared_hcd = usb_create_shared_hcd(driver, &pdev->dev,
>>> + xhci->shared_hcd = __usb_create_hcd(driver, sysdev, &pdev->dev,
>>> dev_name(&pdev->dev), hcd);
>>> if (!xhci->shared_hcd) {
>>> ret = -ENOMEM;
>>> goto disable_clk;
>>> }
>>>
>>> - if (device_property_read_bool(&pdev->dev, "usb3-lpm-capable"))
>>> + if (device_property_read_bool(sysdev, "usb3-lpm-capable"))
>>
>> Why are we using sysdev to read DT property? We should be using the
>> XHCI device (&pdev->dev) here, no?
>
> If I remember correctly, this is one of the cases where pdev does not
> have a device node attached to it because it was created by the driver
> of the parent device on the fly in case of dwc3. When you have a pure xhci
> device in DT, the two pointers are the same.

From drivers/usb/dwc3/host.c

> if (dwc->usb3_lpm_capable) {
> props[0].name = "usb3-lpm-capable";
> ret = platform_device_add_properties(xhci, props);
> if (ret) {
> dev_err(dwc->dev, "failed to add properties to xHCI\n");
> goto err1;
> }
> }

So it is setting the usb3-lpm-capable property into the xhci platform device
and we should be reading the property from there.

--
cheers,
-roger

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2017-02-14 19:07    [W:0.088 / U:2.844 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site