lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2017]   [Dec]   [6]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
From
Date
SubjectRe: [PATCH v2 1/4] sched/fair: always used unsigned long for utilization
On 5 December 2017 at 18:10, Patrick Bellasi <patrick.bellasi@arm.com> wrote:
> Utilization and capacity are tracked as unsigned long, however some
> functions using them return an int which is ultimately assigned back to
> unsigned long variables.
>
> Since there is not scope on using a different and signed type, this
> consolidate the signature of functions returning utilization to always
> use the native type.
> As well as improving code consistency this is expected also benefits
> code paths where utilizations should be clamped by avoiding further type
> conversions or ugly type casts.
>
> Signed-off-by: Patrick Bellasi <patrick.bellasi@arm.com>
> Reviewed-by: Chris Redpath <chris.redpath@arm.com>
> Reviewed-by: Brendan Jackman <brendan.jackman@arm.com>
> Reviewed-by: Dietmar Eggemann <dietmar.eggemann@arm.com>
> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>
> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
> Cc: Vincent Guittot <vincent.guittot@linaro.org>
> Cc: Morten Rasmussen <morten.rasmussen@arm.com>
> Cc: Dietmar Eggemann <dietmar.eggemann@arm.com>
> Cc: linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org

Acked-by: Vincent Guittot <vincent.guittot@linaro.org>

>
> ---
> Changes v1->v2:
> - rebase on top of v4.15-rc2
> - tested that overhauled PELT code does not affect the util_est
> ---
> kernel/sched/fair.c | 10 +++++-----
> 1 file changed, 5 insertions(+), 5 deletions(-)
>
> diff --git a/kernel/sched/fair.c b/kernel/sched/fair.c
> index 4037e19bbca2..ad21550d008c 100644
> --- a/kernel/sched/fair.c
> +++ b/kernel/sched/fair.c
> @@ -5721,8 +5721,8 @@ static int wake_affine(struct sched_domain *sd, struct task_struct *p,
> return affine;
> }
>
> -static inline int task_util(struct task_struct *p);
> -static int cpu_util_wake(int cpu, struct task_struct *p);
> +static inline unsigned long task_util(struct task_struct *p);
> +static unsigned long cpu_util_wake(int cpu, struct task_struct *p);
>
> static unsigned long capacity_spare_wake(int cpu, struct task_struct *p)
> {
> @@ -6203,7 +6203,7 @@ static int select_idle_sibling(struct task_struct *p, int prev, int target)
> * capacity_orig) as it useful for predicting the capacity required after task
> * migrations (scheduler-driven DVFS).
> */
> -static int cpu_util(int cpu)
> +static unsigned long cpu_util(int cpu)
> {
> unsigned long util = cpu_rq(cpu)->cfs.avg.util_avg;
> unsigned long capacity = capacity_orig_of(cpu);
> @@ -6211,7 +6211,7 @@ static int cpu_util(int cpu)
> return (util >= capacity) ? capacity : util;
> }
>
> -static inline int task_util(struct task_struct *p)
> +static inline unsigned long task_util(struct task_struct *p)
> {
> return p->se.avg.util_avg;
> }
> @@ -6220,7 +6220,7 @@ static inline int task_util(struct task_struct *p)
> * cpu_util_wake: Compute cpu utilization with any contributions from
> * the waking task p removed.
> */
> -static int cpu_util_wake(int cpu, struct task_struct *p)
> +static unsigned long cpu_util_wake(int cpu, struct task_struct *p)
> {
> unsigned long util, capacity;
>
> --
> 2.14.1
>

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2017-12-06 09:57    [W:0.230 / U:2.844 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site