lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2017]   [Dec]   [22]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH 4.14 077/159] x86/irq: Remove an old outdated comment about context tracking races
Date
4.14-stable review patch.  If anyone has any objections, please let me know.

------------------

From: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org>

commit 6669a692605547892a026445e460bf233958bd7f upstream.

That race has been fixed and code cleaned up for a while now.

Signed-off-by: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org>
Signed-off-by: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Reviewed-by: Borislav Petkov <bp@suse.de>
Reviewed-by: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: Boris Ostrovsky <boris.ostrovsky@oracle.com>
Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de>
Cc: Borislav Petkov <bpetkov@suse.de>
Cc: Brian Gerst <brgerst@gmail.com>
Cc: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@intel.com>
Cc: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@linux.intel.com>
Cc: David Laight <David.Laight@aculab.com>
Cc: Denys Vlasenko <dvlasenk@redhat.com>
Cc: Eduardo Valentin <eduval@amazon.com>
Cc: Greg KH <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
Cc: H. Peter Anvin <hpa@zytor.com>
Cc: Josh Poimboeuf <jpoimboe@redhat.com>
Cc: Juergen Gross <jgross@suse.com>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com>
Cc: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>
Cc: aliguori@amazon.com
Cc: daniel.gruss@iaik.tugraz.at
Cc: hughd@google.com
Cc: keescook@google.com
Link: https://lkml.kernel.org/r/20171204150605.150551639@linutronix.de
Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>

---
arch/x86/kernel/irq.c | 12 ------------
1 file changed, 12 deletions(-)

--- a/arch/x86/kernel/irq.c
+++ b/arch/x86/kernel/irq.c
@@ -219,18 +219,6 @@ __visible unsigned int __irq_entry do_IR
/* high bit used in ret_from_ code */
unsigned vector = ~regs->orig_ax;

- /*
- * NB: Unlike exception entries, IRQ entries do not reliably
- * handle context tracking in the low-level entry code. This is
- * because syscall entries execute briefly with IRQs on before
- * updating context tracking state, so we can take an IRQ from
- * kernel mode with CONTEXT_USER. The low-level entry code only
- * updates the context if we came from user mode, so we won't
- * switch to CONTEXT_KERNEL. We'll fix that once the syscall
- * code is cleaned up enough that we can cleanly defer enabling
- * IRQs.
- */
-
entering_irq();

/* entering_irq() tells RCU that we're not quiescent. Check it. */

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2017-12-22 10:43    [W:0.363 / U:1.112 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site