lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2017]   [Dec]   [20]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
Date
From
Subject[patch V181 29/54] x86/mm/pti: Allow NX poison to be set in p4d/pgd
From: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@linux.intel.com>

With PAGE_TABLE_ISOLATION the user portion of the kernel page tables is
poisoned with the NX bit so if the entry code exits with the kernel page
tables selected in CR3, userspace crashes.

But doing so trips the p4d/pgd_bad() checks. Make sure it does not do
that.

Signed-off-by: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@linux.intel.com>
Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Signed-off-by: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Reviewed-by: Borislav Petkov <bp@suse.de>
Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org>
Cc: Boris Ostrovsky <boris.ostrovsky@oracle.com>
Cc: Brian Gerst <brgerst@gmail.com>
Cc: David Laight <David.Laight@aculab.com>
Cc: Denys Vlasenko <dvlasenk@redhat.com>
Cc: Eduardo Valentin <eduval@amazon.com>
Cc: Greg KH <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
Cc: H. Peter Anvin <hpa@zytor.com>
Cc: Josh Poimboeuf <jpoimboe@redhat.com>
Cc: Juergen Gross <jgross@suse.com>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>
Cc: aliguori@amazon.com
Cc: daniel.gruss@iaik.tugraz.at
Cc: hughd@google.com
Cc: keescook@google.com
---
arch/x86/include/asm/pgtable.h | 14 ++++++++++++--
1 file changed, 12 insertions(+), 2 deletions(-)

--- a/arch/x86/include/asm/pgtable.h
+++ b/arch/x86/include/asm/pgtable.h
@@ -846,7 +846,12 @@ static inline pud_t *pud_offset(p4d_t *p

static inline int p4d_bad(p4d_t p4d)
{
- return (p4d_flags(p4d) & ~(_KERNPG_TABLE | _PAGE_USER)) != 0;
+ unsigned long ignore_flags = _KERNPG_TABLE | _PAGE_USER;
+
+ if (IS_ENABLED(CONFIG_PAGE_TABLE_ISOLATION))
+ ignore_flags |= _PAGE_NX;
+
+ return (p4d_flags(p4d) & ~ignore_flags) != 0;
}
#endif /* CONFIG_PGTABLE_LEVELS > 3 */

@@ -880,7 +885,12 @@ static inline p4d_t *p4d_offset(pgd_t *p

static inline int pgd_bad(pgd_t pgd)
{
- return (pgd_flags(pgd) & ~_PAGE_USER) != _KERNPG_TABLE;
+ unsigned long ignore_flags = _PAGE_USER;
+
+ if (IS_ENABLED(CONFIG_PAGE_TABLE_ISOLATION))
+ ignore_flags |= _PAGE_NX;
+
+ return (pgd_flags(pgd) & ~ignore_flags) != _KERNPG_TABLE;
}

static inline int pgd_none(pgd_t pgd)

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2017-12-20 22:58    [W:0.141 / U:0.680 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site