lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2017]   [Dec]   [15]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
Date
From
SubjectRe: [patch v2 1/2] mm, mmu_notifier: annotate mmu notifiers with blockable invalidate callbacks
On Thu, 14 Dec 2017 13:30:56 -0800 (PST) David Rientjes <rientjes@google.com> wrote:

> Commit 4d4bbd8526a8 ("mm, oom_reaper: skip mm structs with mmu notifiers")
> prevented the oom reaper from unmapping private anonymous memory with the
> oom reaper when the oom victim mm had mmu notifiers registered.
>
> The rationale is that doing mmu_notifier_invalidate_range_{start,end}()
> around the unmap_page_range(), which is needed, can block and the oom
> killer will stall forever waiting for the victim to exit, which may not
> be possible without reaping.
>
> That concern is real, but only true for mmu notifiers that have blockable
> invalidate_range_{start,end}() callbacks. This patch adds a "flags" field
> to mmu notifier ops that can set a bit to indicate that these callbacks do
> not block.
>
> The implementation is steered toward an expensive slowpath, such as after
> the oom reaper has grabbed mm->mmap_sem of a still alive oom victim.

some tweakage, please review.

From: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Subject: mm-mmu_notifier-annotate-mmu-notifiers-with-blockable-invalidate-callbacks-fix

make mm_has_blockable_invalidate_notifiers() return bool, use rwsem_is_locked()

Cc: Alex Deucher <alexander.deucher@amd.com>
Cc: Andrea Arcangeli <aarcange@redhat.com>
Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org>
Cc: Boris Ostrovsky <boris.ostrovsky@oracle.com>
Cc: Christian König <christian.koenig@amd.com>
Cc: David Airlie <airlied@linux.ie>
Cc: David Rientjes <rientjes@google.com>
Cc: Dimitri Sivanich <sivanich@hpe.com>
Cc: Doug Ledford <dledford@redhat.com>
Cc: Jani Nikula <jani.nikula@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Jérôme Glisse <jglisse@redhat.com>
Cc: Joerg Roedel <joro@8bytes.org>
Cc: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.com>
Cc: Mike Marciniszyn <mike.marciniszyn@intel.com>
Cc: Oded Gabbay <oded.gabbay@gmail.com>
Cc: Paolo Bonzini <pbonzini@redhat.com>
Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>
Cc: Radim Krčmář <rkrcmar@redhat.com>
Cc: Sean Hefty <sean.hefty@intel.com>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
---

include/linux/mmu_notifier.h | 7 ++++---
mm/mmu_notifier.c | 8 ++++----
2 files changed, 8 insertions(+), 7 deletions(-)

diff -puN include/linux/mmu_notifier.h~mm-mmu_notifier-annotate-mmu-notifiers-with-blockable-invalidate-callbacks-fix include/linux/mmu_notifier.h
--- a/include/linux/mmu_notifier.h~mm-mmu_notifier-annotate-mmu-notifiers-with-blockable-invalidate-callbacks-fix
+++ a/include/linux/mmu_notifier.h
@@ -2,6 +2,7 @@
#ifndef _LINUX_MMU_NOTIFIER_H
#define _LINUX_MMU_NOTIFIER_H

+#include <linux/types.h>
#include <linux/list.h>
#include <linux/spinlock.h>
#include <linux/mm_types.h>
@@ -233,7 +234,7 @@ extern void __mmu_notifier_invalidate_ra
bool only_end);
extern void __mmu_notifier_invalidate_range(struct mm_struct *mm,
unsigned long start, unsigned long end);
-extern int mm_has_blockable_invalidate_notifiers(struct mm_struct *mm);
+extern bool mm_has_blockable_invalidate_notifiers(struct mm_struct *mm);

static inline void mmu_notifier_release(struct mm_struct *mm)
{
@@ -473,9 +474,9 @@ static inline void mmu_notifier_invalida
{
}

-static inline int mm_has_blockable_invalidate_notifiers(struct mm_struct *mm)
+static inline bool mm_has_blockable_invalidate_notifiers(struct mm_struct *mm)
{
- return 0;
+ return false;
}

static inline void mmu_notifier_mm_init(struct mm_struct *mm)
diff -puN mm/mmu_notifier.c~mm-mmu_notifier-annotate-mmu-notifiers-with-blockable-invalidate-callbacks-fix mm/mmu_notifier.c
--- a/mm/mmu_notifier.c~mm-mmu_notifier-annotate-mmu-notifiers-with-blockable-invalidate-callbacks-fix
+++ a/mm/mmu_notifier.c
@@ -240,13 +240,13 @@ EXPORT_SYMBOL_GPL(__mmu_notifier_invalid
* Must be called while holding mm->mmap_sem for either read or write.
* The result is guaranteed to be valid until mm->mmap_sem is dropped.
*/
-int mm_has_blockable_invalidate_notifiers(struct mm_struct *mm)
+bool mm_has_blockable_invalidate_notifiers(struct mm_struct *mm)
{
struct mmu_notifier *mn;
int id;
- int ret = 0;
+ bool ret = false;

- WARN_ON_ONCE(down_write_trylock(&mm->mmap_sem));
+ WARN_ON_ONCE(!rwsem_is_locked(&mm->mmap_sem));

if (!mm_has_notifiers(mm))
return ret;
@@ -259,7 +259,7 @@ int mm_has_blockable_invalidate_notifier
continue;

if (!(mn->ops->flags & MMU_INVALIDATE_DOES_NOT_BLOCK)) {
- ret = 1;
+ ret = true;
break;
}
}
_
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2017-12-16 00:05    [W:0.233 / U:2.304 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site