lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2017]   [Dec]   [12]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
Date
From
SubjectRe: [PATCH v2 2/2] acpi, x86: Use SPCR table for earlycon on x86

* Prarit Bhargava <prarit@redhat.com> wrote:

> The ACPI SPCR code has been used to define an earlycon console for ARM64
> and can be used for x86.
>
> Modify the ACPI SPCR parsing code to account for console behaviour
> differences between ARM64 and x86. Initialize the SPCR code from
> x86 ACPI initialization code.
>
> Signed-off-by: Prarit Bhargava <prarit@redhat.com>
> Cc: linux-doc@vger.kernel.org
> Cc: linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org
> Cc: linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org
> Cc: linux-pm@vger.kernel.org
> Cc: linux-acpi@vger.kernel.org
> Cc: linux-serial@vger.kernel.org
> Cc: Bhupesh Sharma <bhsharma@redhat.com>
> Cc: Lv Zheng <lv.zheng@intel.com>
> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>
> Cc: "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com>
> Cc: x86@kernel.org
> Cc: Jonathan Corbet <corbet@lwn.net>
> Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>
> Cc: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>
> Cc: "Rafael J. Wysocki" <rjw@rjwysocki.net>
> Cc: Timur Tabi <timur@codeaurora.org>
> ---
> Documentation/admin-guide/kernel-parameters.txt | 3 +++
> arch/arm64/kernel/acpi.c | 2 +-
> arch/x86/kernel/acpi/boot.c | 4 ++++
> drivers/acpi/Kconfig | 2 +-
> drivers/acpi/spcr.c | 7 +++++--
> include/linux/acpi.h | 7 +++++--
> 6 files changed, 19 insertions(+), 6 deletions(-)

LGTM from an x86 perspective:

Acked-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>

(assuming it causes no regressions in linux-next.)

Since patch #1 affects ARM64 significantly, once that patch is acceptable to the
arm64 folks feel free to upstream this second patch via the ARM64 tree as well.

Thanks,

Ingo

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2017-12-12 11:41    [W:0.088 / U:0.552 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site