lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2017]   [Nov]   [30]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
SubjectRe: [PATCHv3] drm: adv7511/33: Fix adv7511_cec_init() failure handling
From
Date


On 11/23/2017 05:52 AM, John Stultz wrote:
> On Tue, Nov 21, 2017 at 12:17 AM, Hans Verkuil <hverkuil@xs4all.nl> wrote:
>> If the device tree for a board did not specify a cec clock, then
>> adv7511_cec_init would return an error, which would cause adv7511_probe()
>> to fail and thus there is no HDMI output.
>>
>> There is no need to have adv7511_probe() fail if the CEC initialization
>> fails, so just change adv7511_cec_init() to a void function. In addition,
>> adv7511_cec_init() should just return silently if the cec clock isn't
>> found and show a message for any other errors.
>>
>> An otherwise correct cleanup patch from Dan Carpenter turned this broken
>> failure handling into a kernel Oops, so bisection points to commit
>> 7af35b0addbc ("drm/kirin: Checking for IS_ERR() instead of NULL") rather
>> than 3b1b975003e4 ("drm: adv7511/33: add HDMI CEC support").
>>
>> Based on earlier patches from Arnd and John.
>>
>> Reported-by: Naresh Kamboju <naresh.kamboju@linaro.org>
>> Cc: Xinliang Liu <xinliang.liu@linaro.org>
>> Cc: Dan Carpenter <dan.carpenter@oracle.com>
>> Cc: Sean Paul <seanpaul@chromium.org>
>> Cc: Archit Taneja <architt@codeaurora.org>
>> Cc: John Stultz <john.stultz@linaro.org>
>> Link: https://bugs.linaro.org/show_bug.cgi?id=3345
>> Link: https://lkft.validation.linaro.org/scheduler/job/48017#L3551
>> Fixes: 7af35b0addbc ("drm/kirin: Checking for IS_ERR() instead of NULL")
>> Fixes: 3b1b975003e4 ("drm: adv7511/33: add HDMI CEC support")
>> Signed-off-by: Hans Verkuil <hans.verkuil@cisco.com>
>> Tested-by: Hans Verkuil <hans.verkuil@cisco.com>
>> ---
>> This rework of Arnd and John's patches goes a bit further and just silently
>> exits if there is no cec clock defined in the dts. I'm sure that's the
>> reason why the kirin board failed on this. BTW: if the kirin board DOES
>> support cec, then it would be nice if it can be hooked up in the dts!
>>
>> Tested with my Dragonboard and Renesas Koelsch board. Also tested what
>> happens when probing is deferred due to missing cec clock.
>>
>> John, can you test this again?
>
> Sorry I didn't get back to you yesterday on this!
>
> Seems to be working ok for me!
>
> Tested-by: John Stultz <john.stultz@linaro.org>

Queued to drm-misc-fixes. Thanks for fixing this.

Archit

--
Qualcomm Innovation Center, Inc. is a member of Code Aurora Forum,
a Linux Foundation Collaborative Project

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2017-11-30 08:02    [W:0.052 / U:4.080 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site