lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2017]   [Oct]   [27]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
Date
From
SubjectRe: [PATCH] IB/mlx5: give back valid speed/width even without plugged in SFP module
Hi,

----- Original Message -----
From: hal@dev.mellanox.co.il
To: parav@mellanox.com, tbogendoerfer@suse.de, matanb@mellanox.com, leonro@mellanox.com, dledford@redhat.com, linux-rdma@vger.kernel.org, linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org
Cc: ghazale.hosseinabadi@oracle.com
Sent: Friday, October 27, 2017 2:30:33 PM GMT -08:00 US/Canada Pacific
Subject: Re: [PATCH] IB/mlx5: give back valid speed/width even without plugged in SFP module

On 10/27/2017 4:33 PM, Parav Pandit wrote:
>
>
>> -----Original Message-----
>> From: Hal Rosenstock [mailto:hal@dev.mellanox.co.il]
>> Sent: Friday, October 27, 2017 3:19 PM
>> To: Parav Pandit <parav@mellanox.com>; Thomas Bogendoerfer
>> <tbogendoerfer@suse.de>; Matan Barak <matanb@mellanox.com>; Leon
>> Romanovsky <leonro@mellanox.com>; Doug Ledford <dledford@redhat.com>;
>> linux-rdma@vger.kernel.org; linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org
>> Cc: Ghazale Hosseinabadi <ghazale.hosseinabadi@oracle.com>
>> Subject: Re: [PATCH] IB/mlx5: give back valid speed/width even without plugged
>> in SFP module
>>
>> On 10/27/2017 2:32 PM, Parav Pandit wrote:
>>> However I believe that ibstat tool should be enhanced to report unknown port
>> speed instead of expecting drivers to supply some random number like this.
>>
>> ibstat gets the rate from libibumad via /sys/class/infiniband/<IB
>> device>/ports/<port number>/rate file which is supposed to be populated by the
>> driver. Is there no rate file in this error case ?
>>
> <...>/<port_num>/rate file exist.
>
> rate_show() has invalid active_width as expected due to nonexistence of SFP.
> So sysfs call return invalid value.
> We don't have invalid_active_width defined right now.
> So ibstat and other applications should not crash on such valid errors.

Agreed. I haven't seen ibstat crash reported though. Can someone provide
the crash details ?

When running ibstat (if transceiver is not connected in adapter):

ibpanic: [7851] main: stat of IB device 'mlx5_1' failed: Invalid argument

Thanks,
Ghazale

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2017-10-28 20:20    [W:0.095 / U:0.152 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site