lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2017]   [Oct]   [10]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
Date
From
Subject[tip:sched/core] sched/fair: Sync task util before slow-path wakeup
Commit-ID:  ea16f0ea6c3dc9e1aa083bd3d1792ba02860526e
Gitweb: https://git.kernel.org/tip/ea16f0ea6c3dc9e1aa083bd3d1792ba02860526e
Author: Brendan Jackman <brendan.jackman@arm.com>
AuthorDate: Thu, 5 Oct 2017 11:55:51 +0100
Committer: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
CommitDate: Tue, 10 Oct 2017 11:45:31 +0200

sched/fair: Sync task util before slow-path wakeup

We use task_util() in find_idlest_group() via capacity_spare_wake().
This task_util() updated in wake_cap(). However wake_cap() is not the
only reason for ending up in find_idlest_group() - we could have been sent
there by wake_wide(). So explicitly sync the task util with prev_cpu
when we are about to head to find_idlest_group().

We could simply do this at the beginning of
select_task_rq_fair() (i.e. irrespective of whether we're heading to
select_idle_sibling() or find_idlest_group() & co), but I didn't want to
slow down the select_idle_sibling() path more than necessary.

Don't do this during fork balancing, we won't need the task_util and
we'd just clobber the last_update_time, which is supposed to be 0.

Signed-off-by: Brendan Jackman <brendan.jackman@arm.com>
Signed-off-by: Peter Zijlstra (Intel) <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Andres Oportus <andresoportus@google.com>
Cc: Dietmar Eggemann <dietmar.eggemann@arm.com>
Cc: Joel Fernandes <joelaf@google.com>
Cc: Josef Bacik <josef@toxicpanda.com>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Mike Galbraith <efault@gmx.de>
Cc: Morten Rasmussen <morten.rasmussen@arm.com>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: Vincent Guittot <vincent.guittot@linaro.org>
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20170808095519.10077-1-brendan.jackman@arm.com
Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
---
kernel/sched/fair.c | 11 ++++++++++-
1 file changed, 10 insertions(+), 1 deletion(-)

diff --git a/kernel/sched/fair.c b/kernel/sched/fair.c
index cc0bfb0..c04a425 100644
--- a/kernel/sched/fair.c
+++ b/kernel/sched/fair.c
@@ -6263,8 +6263,17 @@ select_task_rq_fair(struct task_struct *p, int prev_cpu, int sd_flag, int wake_f
new_cpu = cpu;
}

+ if (sd && !(sd_flag & SD_BALANCE_FORK)) {
+ /*
+ * We're going to need the task's util for capacity_spare_wake
+ * in find_idlest_group. Sync it up to prev_cpu's
+ * last_update_time.
+ */
+ sync_entity_load_avg(&p->se);
+ }
+
if (!sd) {
- pick_cpu:
+pick_cpu:
if (sd_flag & SD_BALANCE_WAKE) /* XXX always ? */
new_cpu = select_idle_sibling(p, prev_cpu, new_cpu);

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2017-10-10 13:12    [W:0.130 / U:3.156 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site