lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2016]   [Sep]   [5]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH 4.7 003/143] x86/platform/uv: Skip UV runtime services mapping in the efi_runtime_disabled case
Date
4.7-stable review patch.  If anyone has any objections, please let me know.

------------------

From: Alex Thorlton <athorlton@sgi.com>

commit f72075c9eda8a43aeea2f9dbb8d187afd4a76f0b upstream.

This problem has actually been in the UV code for a while, but we didn't
catch it until recently, because we had been relying on EFI_OLD_MEMMAP
to allow our systems to boot for a period of time. We noticed the issue
when trying to kexec a recent community kernel, where we hit this NULL
pointer dereference in efi_sync_low_kernel_mappings():

[ 0.337515] BUG: unable to handle kernel NULL pointer dereference at 0000000000000880
[ 0.346276] IP: [<ffffffff8105df8d>] efi_sync_low_kernel_mappings+0x5d/0x1b0

The problem doesn't show up with EFI_OLD_MEMMAP because we skip the
chunk of setup_efi_state() that sets the efi_loader_signature for the
kexec'd kernel. When the kexec'd kernel boots, it won't set EFI_BOOT in
setup_arch, so we completely avoid the bug.

We always kexec with noefi on the command line, so this shouldn't be an
issue, but since we're not actually checking for efi_runtime_disabled in
uv_bios_init(), we end up trying to do EFI runtime callbacks when we
shouldn't be. This patch just adds a check for efi_runtime_disabled in
uv_bios_init() so that we don't map in uv_systab when runtime_disabled ==
true.

Signed-off-by: Alex Thorlton <athorlton@sgi.com>
Signed-off-by: Matt Fleming <matt@codeblueprint.co.uk>
Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org>
Cc: Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org>
Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de>
Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@suse.de>
Cc: Brian Gerst <brgerst@gmail.com>
Cc: Denys Vlasenko <dvlasenk@redhat.com>
Cc: H. Peter Anvin <hpa@zytor.com>
Cc: Josh Poimboeuf <jpoimboe@redhat.com>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Mike Travis <travis@sgi.com>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Russ Anderson <rja@sgi.com>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: linux-efi@vger.kernel.org
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1470912120-22831-2-git-send-email-matt@codeblueprint.co.uk
Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>

---
arch/x86/platform/uv/bios_uv.c | 3 ++-
1 file changed, 2 insertions(+), 1 deletion(-)

--- a/arch/x86/platform/uv/bios_uv.c
+++ b/arch/x86/platform/uv/bios_uv.c
@@ -188,7 +188,8 @@ EXPORT_SYMBOL_GPL(uv_bios_set_legacy_vga
void uv_bios_init(void)
{
uv_systab = NULL;
- if ((efi.uv_systab == EFI_INVALID_TABLE_ADDR) || !efi.uv_systab) {
+ if ((efi.uv_systab == EFI_INVALID_TABLE_ADDR) ||
+ !efi.uv_systab || efi_runtime_disabled()) {
pr_crit("UV: UVsystab: missing\n");
return;
}

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2016-09-17 09:58    [W:0.347 / U:0.032 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site