lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2016]   [Aug]   [18]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH v3 1/2] ARM: dts: Remove use of skeleton.dtsi from bcm283x.dtsi
Date
This file is included from DTS files under arch/arm64 too (via
broadcom/bcm2837-rpi-3-b.dts and broadcom/bcm2837.dtsi). There is a desire
not to have skeleton.dtsi for ARM64. See commit 3ebee5a2e141 ("arm64: dts:
kill skeleton.dtsi") for rationale for its removal.

As well as the addition of #*-cells also requires adding the device_type to
the rpi memory node explicitly.

Note that this change results in the removal of an empty /aliases node from
bcm2835-rpi-a.dtb and bcm2835-rpi-a-plus.dtb. I have no hardware to check
if this is a problem or not.

It also results in some reordering of the nodes in the DTBs (the /aliases
and /memory nodes come later). This isn't supposed to matter but, again,
I've no hardware to check if it is true in this particular case.

Signed-off-by: Ian Campbell <ijc@hellion.org.uk>
Acked-by: Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>
Tested-by: Stefan Wahren <stefan.wahren@i2se.com>
Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>
Cc: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>
Cc: Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>
Cc: Rob Herring <robh+dt@kernel.org>
Cc: Frank Rowand <frowand.list@gmail.com>
Cc: Eric Anholt <eric@anholt.net>
Cc: Stephen Warren <swarren@wwwdotorg.org>
Cc: Lee Jones <lee@kernel.org>
Cc: Gerd Hoffmann <kraxel@redhat.com>
Cc: devicetree@vger.kernel.org
Cc: linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org
Cc: linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org
Cc: linux-rpi-kernel@lists.infradead.org
Cc: arm@kernel.org
---
v2: New patch to avoid needing to add skeleton.dtsi to arch/arm64
v3: Collected tags
---
arch/arm/boot/dts/bcm2835-rpi.dtsi | 1 +
arch/arm/boot/dts/bcm283x.dtsi | 3 ++-
2 files changed, 3 insertions(+), 1 deletion(-)

diff --git a/arch/arm/boot/dts/bcm2835-rpi.dtsi b/arch/arm/boot/dts/bcm2835-rpi.dtsi
index caf2707..e9b47b2 100644
--- a/arch/arm/boot/dts/bcm2835-rpi.dtsi
+++ b/arch/arm/boot/dts/bcm2835-rpi.dtsi
@@ -2,6 +2,7 @@

/ {
memory {
+ device_type = "memory";
reg = <0 0x10000000>;
};

diff --git a/arch/arm/boot/dts/bcm283x.dtsi b/arch/arm/boot/dts/bcm283x.dtsi
index b982522..445624a 100644
--- a/arch/arm/boot/dts/bcm283x.dtsi
+++ b/arch/arm/boot/dts/bcm283x.dtsi
@@ -2,7 +2,6 @@
#include <dt-bindings/clock/bcm2835.h>
#include <dt-bindings/clock/bcm2835-aux.h>
#include <dt-bindings/gpio/gpio.h>
-#include "skeleton.dtsi"

/* This include file covers the common peripherals and configuration between
* bcm2835 and bcm2836 implementations, leaving the CPU configuration to
@@ -13,6 +12,8 @@
compatible = "brcm,bcm2835";
model = "BCM2835";
interrupt-parent = <&intc>;
+ #address-cells = <1>;
+ #size-cells = <1>;

chosen {
bootargs = "earlyprintk console=ttyAMA0";
--
2.8.1
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2016-09-17 09:57    [W:0.040 / U:1.220 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site