lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2016]   [Dec]   [23]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[v2 6/7] x86/traps: Fixup general protection faults caused by UMIP
Date
If the User-Mode Instruction Prevention CPU feature is available and
enabled, a general protection fault will be issued if the instructions
sgdt, sldt, sidt, str or smsw are executed from user-mode context
(CPL > 0). If the fault was caused by any of the instructions protected
by UMIP, fixup_umip_exceptino will emulate dummy results for these
instructions.

Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org>
Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: H. Peter Anvin <hpa@zytor.com>
Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@suse.de>
Cc: Brian Gerst <brgerst@gmail.com>
Cc: Chen Yucong <slaoub@gmail.com>
Cc: Chris Metcalf <cmetcalf@mellanox.com>
Cc: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Fenghua Yu <fenghua.yu@intel.com>
Cc: Huang Rui <ray.huang@amd.com>
Cc: Jiri Slaby <jslaby@suse.cz>
Cc: Jonathan Corbet <corbet@lwn.net>
Cc: Michael S. Tsirkin <mst@redhat.com>
Cc: Paul Gortmaker <paul.gortmaker@windriver.com>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Ravi V. Shankar <ravi.v.shankar@intel.com>
Cc: Shuah Khan <shuah@kernel.org>
Cc: Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@suse.cz>
Cc: Tony Luck <tony.luck@intel.com>
Cc: Paolo Bonzini <pbonzini@redhat.com>
Cc: Liang Z. Li <liang.z.li@intel.com>
Cc: Alexandre Julliard <julliard@winehq.org>
Cc: Stas Sergeev <stsp@list.ru>
Cc: x86@kernel.org
Cc: linux-msdos@vger.kernel.org
Signed-off-by: Ricardo Neri <ricardo.neri-calderon@linux.intel.com>
---
arch/x86/kernel/traps.c | 4 ++++
1 file changed, 4 insertions(+)

diff --git a/arch/x86/kernel/traps.c b/arch/x86/kernel/traps.c
index bf0c6d0..5044fb3 100644
--- a/arch/x86/kernel/traps.c
+++ b/arch/x86/kernel/traps.c
@@ -64,6 +64,7 @@
#include <asm/trace/mpx.h>
#include <asm/mpx.h>
#include <asm/vm86.h>
+#include <asm/umip.h>

#ifdef CONFIG_X86_64
#include <asm/x86_init.h>
@@ -491,6 +492,9 @@ do_general_protection(struct pt_regs *regs, long error_code)
RCU_LOCKDEP_WARN(!rcu_is_watching(), "entry code didn't wake RCU");
cond_local_irq_enable(regs);

+ if (user_mode(regs) && !fixup_umip_exception(regs))
+ return;
+
if (v8086_mode(regs)) {
local_irq_enable();
handle_vm86_fault((struct kernel_vm86_regs *) regs, error_code);
--
2.9.3
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2016-12-24 02:40    [W:0.138 / U:0.048 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site