lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2016]   [Nov]   [2]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
Date
From
SubjectRe: [PATCH] pinctrl: sunxi: make bool drivers explicitly non-modular
On Sat, Oct 29, 2016 at 08:00:30PM -0400, Paul Gortmaker wrote:
> None of the Kconfigs for any of these drivers are tristate,
> meaning that they currently are not being built as a module by anyone.
>
> Lets remove the modular code that is essentially orphaned, so that
> when reading the drivers there is no doubt they are builtin-only. All
> drivers get essentially the same change, so they are handled in batch.
>
> Changes are (1) use builtin_platform_driver, (2) use init.h header
> (3) delete module_exit related code, (4) delete MODULE_DEVICE_TABLE,
> and (5) delete MODULE_LICENCE/MODULE_AUTHOR and associated tags.
>
> Since module_platform_driver() uses the same init level priority as
> builtin_platform_driver() the init ordering remains unchanged with
> this commit.
>
> Also note that MODULE_DEVICE_TABLE is a no-op for non-modular code.
>
> We do delete the MODULE_LICENSE etc. tags since all that information
> is already contained at the top of each file in the comments.
>
> Cc: Boris Brezillon <boris.brezillon@free-electrons.com>
> Cc: Chen-Yu Tsai <wens@csie.org>
> Cc: Hans de Goede <hdegoede@redhat.com>
> Cc: Maxime Ripard <maxime.ripard@free-electrons.com>
> Cc: Linus Walleij <linus.walleij@linaro.org>
> Cc: Patrice Chotard <patrice.chotard@st.com>
> Cc: Hongzhou Yang <hongzhou.yang@mediatek.com>
> Cc: Fabian Frederick <fabf@skynet.be>
> Cc: Maxime Coquelin <maxime.coquelin@st.com>
> Cc: Vishnu Patekar <vishnupatekar0510@gmail.com>
> Cc: Mylene Josserand <mylene.josserand@free-electrons.com>
> Cc: linux-gpio@vger.kernel.org
> Cc: linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org
> Signed-off-by: Paul Gortmaker <paul.gortmaker@windriver.com>

Acked-by: Maxime Ripard <maxime.ripard@free-electrons.com>

Thanks,
Maxime

--
Maxime Ripard, Free Electrons
Embedded Linux and Kernel engineering
http://free-electrons.com
[unhandled content-type:application/pgp-signature]
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2016-11-02 14:42    [W:0.056 / U:0.064 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site