lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2016]   [Nov]   [13]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Date
Subject[PATCH 3.16 325/346] ARM: 8617/1: dma: fix dma_max_pfn()
3.16.39-rc1 review patch.  If anyone has any objections, please let me know.

------------------

From: Roger Quadros <rogerq@ti.com>

commit d248220f0465b818887baa9829e691fe662b2c5e upstream.

Since commit 6ce0d2001692 ("ARM: dma: Use dma_pfn_offset for dma address translation"),
dma_to_pfn() already returns the PFN with the physical memory start offset
so we don't need to add it again.

This fixes USB mass storage lock-up problem on systems that can't do DMA
over the entire physical memory range (e.g.) Keystone 2 systems with 4GB RAM
can only do DMA over the first 2GB. [K2E-EVM].

What happens there is that without this patch SCSI layer sets a wrong
bounce buffer limit in scsi_calculate_bounce_limit() for the USB mass
storage device. dma_max_pfn() evaluates to 0x8fffff and bounce_limit
is set to 0x8fffff000 whereas maximum DMA'ble physical memory on Keystone 2
is 0x87fffffff. This results in non DMA'ble pages being given to the
USB controller and hence the lock-up.

NOTE: in the above case, USB-SCSI-device's dma_pfn_offset was showing as 0.
This should have really been 0x780000 as on K2e, LOWMEM_START is 0x80000000
and HIGHMEM_START is 0x800000000. DMA zone is 2GB so dma_max_pfn should be
0x87ffff. The incorrect dma_pfn_offset for the USB storage device is because
USB devices are not correctly inheriting the dma_pfn_offset from the
USB host controller. This will be fixed by a separate patch.

Fixes: 6ce0d2001692 ("ARM: dma: Use dma_pfn_offset for dma address translation")
Cc: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
Cc: Santosh Shilimkar <santosh.shilimkar@oracle.com>
Cc: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>
Cc: Olof Johansson <olof@lixom.net>
Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>
Cc: Linus Walleij <linus.walleij@linaro.org>
Reported-by: Grygorii Strashko <grygorii.strashko@ti.com>
Signed-off-by: Roger Quadros <rogerq@ti.com>
Signed-off-by: Russell King <rmk+kernel@arm.linux.org.uk>
Signed-off-by: Ben Hutchings <ben@decadent.org.uk>
---
arch/arm/include/asm/dma-mapping.h | 2 +-
1 file changed, 1 insertion(+), 1 deletion(-)

--- a/arch/arm/include/asm/dma-mapping.h
+++ b/arch/arm/include/asm/dma-mapping.h
@@ -117,7 +117,7 @@ static inline dma_addr_t virt_to_dma(str
/* The ARM override for dma_max_pfn() */
static inline unsigned long dma_max_pfn(struct device *dev)
{
- return PHYS_PFN_OFFSET + dma_to_pfn(dev, *dev->dma_mask);
+ return dma_to_pfn(dev, *dev->dma_mask);
}
#define dma_max_pfn(dev) dma_max_pfn(dev)

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2016-11-14 03:42    [W:3.455 / U:0.732 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site