lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2015]   [Mar]   [6]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
From
SubjectRe: [PATCH v9 04/21] ARM64: allow late use of early_ioremap
Date
On Wed, 25 Feb 2015 16:39:44 +0800
, Hanjun Guo <hanjun.guo@linaro.org>
wrote:
> From: Mark Salter <msalter@redhat.com>
>
> Commit 0e63ea48b4d8 (arm64/efi: add missing call to early_ioremap_reset())
> added a missing call to early_ioremap_reset(). This triggers a BUG if code
> tries using early_ioremap() after the early_ioremap_reset(). This is a
> problem for some ACPI code which needs short-lived temporary mappings
> after paging_init() but before acpi_early_init() in start_kernel(). This
> patch adds definitions for the __late_set_fixmap() and __late_clear_fixmap()
> which avoids the BUG by allowing later use of early_ioremap().
>
> CC: Leif Lindholm <leif.lindholm@linaro.org>
> CC: Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org>
> Tested-by: Suravee Suthikulpanit <Suravee.Suthikulpanit@amd.com>
> Tested-by: Mark Langsdorf <mlangsdo@redhat.com>
> Tested-by: Jon Masters <jcm@redhat.com>
> Tested-by: Robert Richter <rrichter@cavium.com>
> Acked-by: Robert Richter <rrichter@cavium.com>
> Signed-off-by: Mark Salter <msalter@redhat.com>
> Signed-off-by: Hanjun Guo <hanjun.guo@linaro.org>

Reviewed-by: Grant Likely <grant.likely@linaro.org>

> ---
> arch/arm64/include/asm/fixmap.h | 3 +++
> 1 file changed, 3 insertions(+)
>
> diff --git a/arch/arm64/include/asm/fixmap.h b/arch/arm64/include/asm/fixmap.h
> index defa0ff9..f196e40 100644
> --- a/arch/arm64/include/asm/fixmap.h
> +++ b/arch/arm64/include/asm/fixmap.h
> @@ -62,6 +62,9 @@ void __init early_fixmap_init(void);
>
> #define __early_set_fixmap __set_fixmap
>
> +#define __late_set_fixmap __set_fixmap
> +#define __late_clear_fixmap(idx) __set_fixmap((idx), 0, FIXMAP_PAGE_CLEAR)
> +
> extern void __set_fixmap(enum fixed_addresses idx, phys_addr_t phys, pgprot_t prot);
>
> #include <asm-generic/fixmap.h>
> --
> 1.9.1
>



\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2015-03-06 21:41    [W:0.429 / U:0.176 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site