lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2015]   [Jan]   [1]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
Date
From
Subject[tip:perf/urgent] perf callchain: Append callchains only when requested
Commit-ID:  82aa019e0098a1e0801df94345c0297448323126
Gitweb: http://git.kernel.org/tip/82aa019e0098a1e0801df94345c0297448323126
Author: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org>
AuthorDate: Mon, 22 Dec 2014 13:44:14 +0900
Committer: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
CommitDate: Tue, 23 Dec 2014 12:06:39 -0300

perf callchain: Append callchains only when requested

The perf report --children can be called with callchain disabled so no
need to append callchains. Actually the root of callchain tree is not
initialized properly in this case.

Signed-off-by: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org>
Cc: Adrian Hunter <adrian.hunter@intel.com>
Cc: David Ahern <dsahern@gmail.com>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl>
Cc: Stephane Eranian <eranian@google.com>
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1419223455-4362-7-git-send-email-namhyung@kernel.org
Signed-off-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
---
tools/perf/util/hist.c | 7 ++++---
1 file changed, 4 insertions(+), 3 deletions(-)

diff --git a/tools/perf/util/hist.c b/tools/perf/util/hist.c
index 1cc6ea4..0ced178 100644
--- a/tools/perf/util/hist.c
+++ b/tools/perf/util/hist.c
@@ -304,7 +304,7 @@ static struct hist_entry *hist_entry__new(struct hist_entry *template,
size_t callchain_size = 0;
struct hist_entry *he;

- if (symbol_conf.use_callchain || symbol_conf.cumulate_callchain)
+ if (symbol_conf.use_callchain)
callchain_size = sizeof(struct callchain_root);

he = zalloc(sizeof(*he) + callchain_size);
@@ -737,7 +737,7 @@ iter_add_single_cumulative_entry(struct hist_entry_iter *iter,
iter->he = he;
he_cache[iter->curr++] = he;

- callchain_append(he->callchain, &callchain_cursor, sample->period);
+ hist_entry__append_callchain(he, sample);

/*
* We need to re-initialize the cursor since callchain_append()
@@ -810,7 +810,8 @@ iter_add_next_cumulative_entry(struct hist_entry_iter *iter,
iter->he = he;
he_cache[iter->curr++] = he;

- callchain_append(he->callchain, &cursor, sample->period);
+ if (symbol_conf.use_callchain)
+ callchain_append(he->callchain, &cursor, sample->period);
return 0;
}


\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2015-01-01 22:41    [W:0.147 / U:0.552 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site