lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2014]   [Dec]   [14]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH 3.17 01/47] mm: frontswap: invalidate expired data on a dup-store failure
Date
3.17-stable review patch.  If anyone has any objections, please let me know.

------------------

From: Weijie Yang <weijie.yang@samsung.com>

commit fb993fa1a2f669215fa03a09eed7848f2663e336 upstream.

If a frontswap dup-store failed, it should invalidate the expired page
in the backend, or it could trigger some data corruption issue.
Such as:
1. use zswap as the frontswap backend with writeback feature
2. store a swap page(version_1) to entry A, success
3. dup-store a newer page(version_2) to the same entry A, fail
4. use __swap_writepage() write version_2 page to swapfile, success
5. zswap do shrink, writeback version_1 page to swapfile
6. version_2 page is overwrited by version_1, data corrupt.

This patch fixes this issue by invalidating expired data immediately
when meet a dup-store failure.

Signed-off-by: Weijie Yang <weijie.yang@samsung.com>
Cc: Konrad Rzeszutek Wilk <konrad.wilk@oracle.com>
Cc: Seth Jennings <sjennings@variantweb.net>
Cc: Dan Streetman <ddstreet@ieee.org>
Cc: Minchan Kim <minchan@kernel.org>
Cc: Bob Liu <bob.liu@oracle.com>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>

---
mm/frontswap.c | 4 +++-
1 file changed, 3 insertions(+), 1 deletion(-)

--- a/mm/frontswap.c
+++ b/mm/frontswap.c
@@ -244,8 +244,10 @@ int __frontswap_store(struct page *page)
the (older) page from frontswap
*/
inc_frontswap_failed_stores();
- if (dup)
+ if (dup) {
__frontswap_clear(sis, offset);
+ frontswap_ops->invalidate_page(type, offset);
+ }
}
if (frontswap_writethrough_enabled)
/* report failure so swap also writes to swap device */



\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2014-12-14 22:01    [W:0.155 / U:21.936 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site